Featured News

Obama Wins Nobel Peace Prize

By Mason Votes Director Christian Smith

Friday, Oct. 9, 2009 10:12 a.m.

“The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace prize for 2009 is to be awarded to President Barack Obama for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples,” said Thorbjørn Jagland, chairman of the committee in a speech early this morning. “Obama has, as president, created a new international climate…dialogue and negotiations are preferred as instruments in solving even the most difficult conflicts.”

Jagland praised the president’s “vision of a world free from nuclear arms.”

Republicans have reacted negatively to the news. Michael Steele, chairman of the Republican National Committee, said in a statement, “the real question Americans are asking is, ‘What has President Obama actually accomplished?’ It is unfortunate that the president’s star power has outshined tireless advocates who have made real achievements working towards peace and human rights. One thing is certain – President Obama won’t be receiving any awards from Americans for job creation, fiscal responsibility, or backing up rhetoric with concrete action.”

According to Politico.com, Rush Limbaugh sent an email stating, “This fully exposes the illusion that is Barack Obama. And with this ‘award’ the elites of the world are urging Obama, THE MAN OF PEACE, to not do the surge in Afghanistan, not take action against Iran and its nuclear program and to basically continue his intentions to emasculate the United States.”

Obama is only the third sitting president to be awarded the Peace Prize. President Theodore Roosevelt and Woodrow Wilson won in 1906 and 1919 respectively.

Obama was originally slated to make a statement at 10:15, but it has been rescheduled several times. The press is now awaiting his arrival in the Rose Garden. It will be streamed live on the White House website.

Official White House Photo by Chuck Kennedy

Please wait...

About Cay Smith

No information is provided by the author.

Comments Closed

Comments are closed. You will not be able to post a comment in this post.